A chakra is an energy center, or a small vortex point of coagulated energy, that receives and sends energy to and from you. It may be energy in the form of a person’s emotion or thought.

The chakra system is constantly filtering through the energy that you encounter. It may store the energy in the body or release it. Ultimately, the chakras are responsible for your body’s energy maintenance, health and wellbeing.

There are seven main chakras, and sometimes nine or more, that govern a specific set of physical and emotional attributes, detailed as follows:

7 Chakras

Root Chakra

The root chakra, or Muladhara in Sanskrit, resides at the base of your tailbone. It provides the stability and safety to move confidently in the world.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra, or Svadisthana, sits in the center of your lower abdomen. The radiant wheel of orange light rules your creativity and sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura, sits two finger-widths above the belly button. The energetic power house radiates your confidence, willpower and intellect.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra, or Anahata, sits at heart center. The divine connection point of the earthly and cosmic realms holds your capacity for acceptance, compassion, and love.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra, or Vishuddha, is the first of the three spiritual chakras. Residing at the center of your throat, it’s where your divine truth emerges.

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra, or Ajna, resides between the eyebrows, encompassing the pituitary gland. It expands your awareness beyond the five senses.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra, or Sahasrara, sits at the top of your head. The violet disk of light opens your channel to the divine energy that creates everything in the universe.


Our Picks